Tags

, , , , ,

resolution 3 Although I don’t always follow through on my New Year’s resolutions, I still like making them because I feel that it gives me direction. Making some progress is better than no progress. So here are my 2015 resolutions in no particular order: Personal I want to write at least one blog post a month. Writing helps me to reflect on my life and what The Lord is doing in it. It helps me to look above the physical reality to the spiritual reality. It causes me to ask myself “What is God trying to teach me?” Health I want to eat more fruits & vegetables at lunch at work. This is the easiest of my resolutions & the one that I have been the best at so far. I have packed carrot sticks or apple slices on sandwich days. On days when I bring dinner leftovers I try to bring the leftover veggies too if there are any. Faith I signed up to receive a daily email from http://www.Flocknote.com containing part of YouCat. My resolution is to actually read it each day. I’ve already missed it a few times but have gone back to read them. It’s a great way to remind myself of the truths of the Faith. Hopefully I will learn some things too. Hopefully more knowledge will lead to a deeper love & appreciation for the Catholic faith. Plus it gets me to read something I probably wouldn’t otherwise read but should be familiar with in my evangelization ministry. If this interests you, you can sign up for it too! Financial My goal is to keep better track of our finances so that I know where our money is going. My hope is it will keep us from going into debt & allow us to save towards our goals. So far it’s working. The computer program/mobile app I use is www.youneedabudget.com If you sign up through my referral link you should get a $6 discount. I like the envelope system so I can categorize our money to save up for certain things & know how much we are spending in each area. Professional This is my hardest goal to reach: I want to grade papers & return them to students in a timely fashion. The point of grading is to give helpful feedback. But if I don’t return them while still in the unit then it doesn’t help the students. I almost didn’t make this resolution because I’m already so far behind.  But I’m going to make it anyway because it’s important to have a vision of where you’d like to be so that you strive for improvement. That’s what all of these are – goals – something to work towards; they aren’t promises that I will do these everyday.  It’s not an all or nothing scenario.  If I forget to eat a veggie or if I don’t post every month, it doesn’t mean I should give up.  It only means I need to try again.  Which is good because it’s now April when I’m hitting publish & I started typing this in January.  So much for that resolution!  How are yours going? resolution 2 Ecclesiastes 3 New Revised Standard Version, Anglicised Catholic Edition (NRSVACE)

Everything Has Its Time

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven:

a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; a time to throw away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; a time to seek, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to throw away; a time to tear, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak; a time to love, and a time to hate; a time for war, and a time for peace.

